Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    448

    Do it Yourself Dewalt Conversion

    So im planning on putting a dewalt 14.4v motor in my summit, and i already have the motor from my Drill i dont use. i will be running 2, 2s lipos.

    The only question i have is how to wire it? i will be putting 2 red and 2 black motor leads on each side of the motor just like the 775, but ive heard people talking about "caps", and read on the kershaw design page that there is a specific motor "prep" (caps and wires) that need to be used.

    So does anybody know what i will need to wire this motor my self? and where to get them?
    does someone have a link to point me in the right direction?

    Thanks for the help in advance.
    RX8 Powered E-revo
    E-Slayer

  2. #2
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    u.k.
    Posts
    1,774
    10awg silicone wire.
    6.5mm CC bullet connectors.
    2.4 ghz radio if you have caps you can use them if not no problems.AM you NEED caps.
    solder 10awg wire to "inside" of brush spade tab.

    heatshrink over for bit support and incase the solder melts off.


    I don't know where the pics are for CC conectors, but its two esc wires into one connector, heatshrink used still. Then that plugs into the 10awg side connected to motor.
    I run the motor without caps after they snapped off. Works fine.
    Problems.The manual's good starting point. Simple

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    448
    I am using 2.4ghz, what are caps? i guess since im running 2.4ghz i dont need them, but i would just like to know what they are.
    RX8 Powered E-revo
    E-Slayer

  4. #4
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SL,UT
    Posts
    88
    "caps" is short for capacitors.
    You can drive my car, but there's a $500 deposit.

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    448
    Quote Originally Posted by Smittyz View Post
    "caps" is short for capacitors.
    Ok, so i dont need them if im running 2.4 ghz?
    RX8 Powered E-revo
    E-Slayer

  6. #6
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    You could still use'm, the only reason they would matter I figure is because they would "smooth" out the signal, the AM is very noisy, and the motor would be receiving all sorts of "go go stop stop go stop go go go stop go stop" when you haven't even done a thing!! So the cap would make it more like, "...................... waiting for a signal to go!" which is a good thing I assume for the life of the motor.

    This is all guess work, but it's what makes sense to me.

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    448
    Where can i pic up some caps? i figure i might as well put them on for good measure, and do i need one on each side? or just one?
    RX8 Powered E-revo
    E-Slayer

  8. #8
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SL,UT
    Posts
    88
    You can drive my car, but there's a $500 deposit.

  9. #9
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2,016
    Quote Originally Posted by afol2524 View Post
    Where can i pic up some caps? i figure i might as well put them on for good measure, and do i need one on each side? or just one?
    Your local Radio Shack or electonics store or possibly even Home Depot/Lowes or Auto Zone. I originally did mine ghetto style. Just unsoldered the caps from the titan 775 and placed them on the DeWalt
    MAN, Use Common Sense
    Funky Gecko, SumVee HDE

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    899
    How do you attach the motor mount to the motor? I have a dewalt 14.4 but its diameter is much bigger than the screw holes in the mount?

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    840
    You need to oval or widen the holes out on the motor mount so the dewalt can bolt up. Check out the summit FAQ there are a couple links in there about installing dewalts.

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,078
    The caps are a courtesy for others running around you .with the 2.4 the motor is still spewing out "noise" so any one running am around you will get interference.just a thought


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  13. #13
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    u.k.
    Posts
    1,774
    true true, maybe they should invest in a 2.4 or take a camera and video the trucks being possessed by the demens, lol.
    I'd be pretty much sure kershaws sell a motor mount for the dewalt install
    Last edited by trax de max; 05-02-2012 at 01:05 AM.
    Problems.The manual's good starting point. Simple

  14. #14
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2,016
    You really do not need a special motor mount. All you have to do is widen the holes in your original motor mount. You may need a thick washer between the motor and the mount to get proper pinion/ spur contact.
    MAN, Use Common Sense
    Funky Gecko, SumVee HDE

  15. #15
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    27
    just opened the box of my 2 dewalts from kershaw but they only wired one wire on each motor even though i told them it was for 2 summits. so after paying for prep i still get to solder on the wires myself. not a big deal just a little set back. will post pics tonight when im finished the mounting.

  16. #16
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    899
    Why can't you run a dewalt with only 2 leads? I don't think you need all 4 off the esc

    Did you try connecting only 2 to see if it runs before u soldered?

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    840
    You can refer to the second post of this thread.

  18. #18
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    899
    What about it?

  19. #19
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,078
    I ran mine on only two leads didn't seem to affect anything


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  20. #20
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by varunaX View Post
    Why can't you run a dewalt with only 2 leads? I don't think you need all 4 off the esc

    Did you try connecting only 2 to see if it runs before u soldered?
    I first thought that the ESC would have only delivered 1/2 the volts if you only used two wires. Or I thought that the system would not operate because the wiring wasn't closed. So, I grabbed my cheap multimeter and went to testing. The motor still runs on just two wires and the voltage is the same with two our four wires.

    I think the issues comes down to Amp draw. A big motor pulling lots of amps through one wire could be disastrous. But pulling the same amps through two wires may offset the power draw. This of course is my theory, I'm not an electrician nor do I play one on TV.

    Here's how I did mine for my E-Maxx Dewalt mod:


  21. #21
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    27
    yes it comes down to current draw i figured it would put more strain on the esc wires. finally got them mounted up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •