RC Enthusiast

Out of box speed for Slash 4x4 (#6808)

I am new to the RC hobby and just purchased a Slash 4x4. I will not be racing but I was interested in the speed I was getting out of the box. I hooked up my old phones GPS program that I use for when I take long bike rides.

My first few runs had the 13/54 gear combination. I was able to hit a top speed of 31.25mph.

I then switched to the 18/54 set up. With this I hit a top speed of 37.75mph. I did notice the motor became much hotter running this gear combination.

With all of this being said I mainly plan to use nimh batteries to run off road and possibly hit some jumps. I would appreciate any tips to improve my off road bashing.

RC Qualifier
    I would say upgrade to li-po it will be faster and last longer.I used the stock nimh battery and a 2s li-po and have never went back to that battery.And know I have a 3s battery and hardly use the 2s anymore.The 18 tooth pinion gear is for tarmac and speed runs only with the stock system.The 13t is for everything really and if you ever did get a 3s you will probably want to upgrade to a new ESC and motor combo which the castle 2400 would be a good choice.

RC Qualifier
    Off road gear low. Speeds sound correct.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RC Qualifier
    Get LiPo(s). Enough said.
    This is a signature.

RC Racer
    +1 on any LiPo upgrade.

First off, welcome to the hobby. You've bought the right truck and it will bring you tons of good times.

I was pretty hesitant to invest in LiPo's as well, but quickly noticed it was the definitely the right route to go. I first bought a cheap charger and a 3S 11.1 V 5000 mAh LiPo for like $60 then realized that a 3S was a little much for what I needed and wasn't worth the extra high temps that I was reaching, since then I've bought multiple 2S 7.4V LiPo's and have had a blast. You can pick one up for like $40 and a charger for $40 and it will make a world of difference.