RC poster

Transmission Binding???

Hey guys!

I've only been the owner of my E-Revo Brushless for around two weeks and have only taken it out 3 times (once with the stock NIMH batteries and twice with 4S Lipos). I'm quite new to the hobby but did own an E-Maxx Brushed for a few months before. I did do a swap with the 65T Spur to the 54T when I started with the Lipos but only after a few runs the pinion gear set screw came loose and the pinion stripped the 54T spur after coming lose on the motor shaft, at least that's what I think. I ended up putting some medium strength loctite on the set screw but now I noticed that the transmission is binding when I roll the truck without the gear mesh so I haven't taken it out since. It doesn't bind constantly just every foot or so when the truck is rolled. I can see the slipper clutch and the driveshafts jutter when it happens but the sound definately is coming from inside the tranny. It is a new truck and I cant see how I could of done anything to it because I only have driven it on concrete and have taken a few small jumps but nothing at all serious that could affect anything. The only thing I've done is replace the spur and that already messed up and I don't really want to go about taking apart the tranny if its something else. The truck still rolls so maybe it needs to be broken in???

I think the noise may even have been happening when I took it out of the box because it seemed noisy when I rolled it even with the motor resistance but I didn't think anything of it nor did I try to roll it without the gear mesh. I'm just wondering if it's safe to drive or should I avoid using it until the truck rolls freely so the tranny doesn't mess up further along the way.

Any help would be appreciated!

Where to start, check the differentials. That might cause it to bind then roll free. Just don't think it is the trans of a new truck.
    Diffs prob need to be broke in.
    Would you go flip my truck back over??

RC poster