Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 80 of 466
  1. #41
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    I almost bought some 6000s today but ... didn't.

    When I got home I took mine out to my forest for about an hour, most of it was crawling but a good 10 minutes worth of 2nd gear bashing. I'm pretty sure the stock nimhs lasted the longest they ever have, at LEAST 45 minutes! 2nd gear totally kills these crappy batteries, but they seem to last forever if you're just crawling.

    Get that video up!

  2. #42
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I was going to go with 6000s... didn't because they were borderline on providing enough amps if I were to go brushless.
    (ordered the batteries before I even had the Summit)

    Let's try this video thing...

    I wouldn't even attempt this scenario if it were 1:1.
    I also was able to climb up a grass covered, extremely uneven, bumpy, rocky hill that I could not even climb up myself. But, I did not get that on film. lol
    It took two hands.
    Last edited by Jimmie Neutron; 04-03-2012 at 12:17 AM.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  3. #43
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Earth, Milky Way.
    Posts
    925
    Any news on when your servo is coming?
    This is a signature.

  4. #44
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    Still on back order.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  5. #45
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I love this thing!!

    I have been out an a few hikes now...
    bashing through some pretty rough stuff and have not broken a single part!!

    Now the rear is starting to really squat when I pull the throttle back. Hope to get to do some clean up in the beginning of next week... everything is getting really dusty.

    Should I try some heavier oil in the back?
    Crank down on the preload?
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  6. #46
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sherbrooke Qc, Canada
    Posts
    159
    Are you still running the stock spring in the rear? If so change it for a double orange, which is the same as the front. They're cheap and easy to install.
    Tekin powered Summit

  7. #47
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I've switched springs around already.
    I will have another double orange set coming eventually for the front.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  8. #48
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    899
    If you want less squatting you need lighter oil with stiffer springs

  9. #49
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I have most of the squat eliminated now... just cranked the preload from 0 to about 1/4"

    I think I might be having some ESC issues... I am not sure if it is radio related or not.
    Every once in a while, it will just quit responding... the motor fan is still running and the servos hold center, but no input is being registered. I will shut everything off, unplug the batteries, wait 30 seconds or so and then hook everything back up and it is good to go. This seems to coincide with reverse not engaging even with multiple attempts.... then it goes all at once.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  10. #50
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    Sounds like BEC issues to me. Try this:

    Turn the car on, turn the steering back and forth repeadedly while driving slowly forwards, if it cuts the esc off then 100% that's the issue.

  11. #51
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    775
    i would run a external bec. i run one and it takes alt of strain off of the esc.
    Revenge 1/8 buggy

  12. #52
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25
    I used to experience those same issues, installed an external bec and I haven't had any problems since.

  13. #53
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I wouldn't be the least bit surprised... I am powering two Rx's off from the ESC.
    I have a few BEC's to choose from... waiting on my Tx battery to come into stock so the rest of the shipment, which includes my Rx/BEC battery, can be shipped.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  14. #54
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5
    I had a question about removing the chrome from your stock wheels...does the yellow cap cleaner not cause any damage to the rubber of the tires

  15. #55
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I did not experience any damage what so ever.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  16. #56
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I need some help resolving an issue...

    This has been happening more and more:
    Sometimes, it simply will not engage reverse.

    I have tried resetting the Tx/Rx and ESC.

    I will push the trigger for reverse and it will do absolutely nothing.... multiple times. Going back to neutral then reverse again; it still doesn't engage reverse. I will continue to bump forward > reverse > forward > reverse and sometimes it will suddenly work, most of the time it will not. This used to happen every once in a while... now it is doing it more and more often. (and getting VERY annoying)

    Does anyone have any pointers??
    What am I doing wrong?
    Is there something I can do?

    or is it time to call Traxxas??


    I think I got reverse to engage a total of 10-15 times during a 1.5hour bash/crawl session today.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  17. #57
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    899
    Reading around, I understood that behavior is common with the evx2. I know it happens to me too. I had to get used to it

  18. #58
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    That doesn't sound good Jimmie... I know sometimes reverse doesn't work for me if I don't "do it right" perhaps your trims are off? As in when you go back to neutral on the remote, it's actually not REALLY neutral? Try going forwards, then stop, then reverse.. if it doesn't go reverse, pull the throttle a TAD so you don't actually move, and then try reverse. Understand? Good luck!

  19. #59
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Earth, Milky Way.
    Posts
    925
    Jimmie, have you gotten your ESC wet? I've heared several stories about people driving ''near water'' and afterwards they've had problems with reverse. This shouldn't happen though, the ESC is waterproof.
    This is a signature.

  20. #60
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I will try that, Krall.

    The Summit has never seen water... other than the tires... when they were not attached.

    If this is something I "need to live with" I will be looking for another ESC.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  21. #61
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Earth, Milky Way.
    Posts
    925
    By the way, that avatar is scary!
    This is a signature.

  22. #62
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    I am still playing around with my avatar... haven't found one that I like (that works) just yet. lol


    Well, I think I have the issue fixed.
    The green LED would not always shine when in neutral. I have recalibrated neutral on the ESC, but this time I also calibrated with the multifunction throttle trim set at 0 and then locked it down.
    Ever so slightly pulling throttle allowed the LED to shine as is should (thanks Krall for the guidance). This led me to believe that everything needed to be recalibrated once again. I really spend some time making sure that the throw of the multifunction was dead center of the throw of neutral... if you know what I mean.

    While I was digging through the paperwork, I also found a LED code guide for the new EVX2... I am looking for this page/download on the site so I can link it. It is not a part of the manual, but a separate sheet.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  23. #63
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    That's great news! I was afraid you were going to say, "Having my dual remote, wrecked everything!!" haha. You found some top secret LED Code Guide!?

  24. #64
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    Yeah... there is NOTHING on this site about it anywhere... I found it over at Ultimate RC.




    I still need to power my Rx's with a UBEC... but that will wait until I get all the parts in to finish my Summit project. I am just glad it is at a point that I can still use it... so far, that is the only downfall to the dual remote -- brown out.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  25. #65
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    EVX2 doesn't want to power both receivers? I've not even tried to power them both yet, I've been using my VXL3S on a 1/16lipo for the past couple weeks.

  26. #66
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    There is a couple of clues that it is a power issue...
    (I have yet to confirm this, btw)

    I am only getting around 300' of distance before I lose control.
    I use the same remote to control my MERV... I have no range issues with that; so I know it is not the Tx.

    Every once in a while, in a heavy servo use moment, it stops responding.
    Once I shut it down, wait a moment, and replug/restart; it works fine.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  27. #67
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    United K
    Posts
    1,042
    Must be a power issue. You are powering 2 RXs and 4 servos.

  28. #68
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    Yup... already know that.


    Krall was asking about running two Rx's with the EVX2 due to his radio project (sort of) inspired by mine, he is just taking it to the next level with FPV so I reiterated my power issues so he knows what the downfalls may be without running a BEC/UBEC.

    I am sure my range/connectivity issues will disappear once I install one of my BEC/UBEC's. I have both a linear and switching one to try out... hoping the switching will work as it is smaller and will fit in my second Rx box. The linear one will have to be mounted on the BEC/UBEC battery and waterproofed.... even though my Summit will never see serious water, there always is a chance of a splash here and there from washing.
    Honestly, I would like to use the same battery that is in my radio without a BEC/UBEC. I am sure it will fit in the second Rx box along with the other electronics. The battery is a 2S LiFe and tops out at 7.4 volts... I know my still-on-back-order steering servos and Punk steering PC will handle the extra voltage, but I am not sure about the shifting servos.

    So I guess that leads me to a question:
    Can the micro servo's handle 7.4 volts?
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  29. #69
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    Wouldja hurry up and install them already so I know! :P

  30. #70
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279

    Carnage!!



    Entirely my fault... forgot I had the diffs locked.
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  31. #71
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    What is the part number for the stock spring in the servo saver??
    I think (if I am reading the parts list right) 5344x... the heavy duty one.
    I just want to make sure...
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

  32. #72
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles / South Bay
    Posts
    445
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmie Neutron View Post


    Entirely my fault... forgot I had the diffs locked.
    How did this happened?

    I've forgottened to unlocked many times, even drove in hi gear but it's never broke. Sorry about the damage btw.

  33. #73
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,324
    I've had the diffs locked in high a few times too, but fortunately never had THAT happen, just lousy steering haha.

  34. #74
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,394
    You could run HV servos directly off of the battery power (just connect the red lead from the servo wire to a positive battery lead on the ESC batt connector.) Then the amperage comes directly from the batt to the servo, and not through the rx or BEC. You can still run the receiver and extra PC card at 6V, along with the shifting servos (which I think will not handle 7.4 well, at least not for long...)

    Also, The locked diff carnage can be avoided by combining the functions of the diff lockers with the transmission shifting. I've done this, so that my chan 4/5 switch does the following:
    1) Low gear + all locked (for tough crawling)
    2) Low gear + all unlocked (for regular driving)
    3) High gear + all unlocked (for speed)
    You lose the ability to have a single diff locked (but who locks just one anyway?), and the danger of running in high gear with locked diffs is now impossible. I think it's a nice solution, plus it frees up the thumb switch on my controller. I'll be installing some kind of lights switch with that one...
    Two Rusty VXLs, M2Ks 18/83 - Tag! You're it!

  35. #75
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hurley, MS
    Posts
    381
    How exactly would you go about doing this? I'm rewiring as we speak. I would love to have mine set up this way.
    SUMMIT,EREVO
    P4DE,MERV

  36. #76
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,076
    I myself prefer to be able to lock just the front for climbing and a poor mans front dig sorta


    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  37. #77
    Marshal ksb51rl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    15,453
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmie Neutron View Post
    What is the part number for the stock spring in the servo saver??
    I think (if I am reading the parts list right) 5344x... the heavy duty one.
    I just want to make sure...
    You are correct.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

  38. #78
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,394
    Quote Originally Posted by BAMAFAN View Post
    How exactly would you go about doing this? I'm rewiring as we speak. I would love to have mine set up this way.
    I'll assume you are referring to my post just above yours...

    In channel 4, you hook up both diff servos (use a y-harness to hook them both up to the same channel)
    In channel 5, you hook up the transmission servo.

    I had to reverse one of the channels (4 or 5, I forget which) in the remote to make it work the way I wanted, but after that, it's been perfect.

    Then, channel 3 (thumb switch) is totally freed up. From what I understand, this channel is actually a 3 position channel, so, if you replace the thumb switch with a three way switch, you can have even more options...
    Two Rusty VXLs, M2Ks 18/83 - Tag! You're it!

  39. #79
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. jamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Victoria B.C Canada
    Posts
    5,076
    I spliced a two position switch in line on ch 3 to run my home made winch.the rocker switch became line in/out the inline switch was on/off like




    Sent from my iPhone using My fingers
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

  40. #80
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Jimmie Neutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, MI
    Posts
    12,279
    Maxi:
    I had been running in sand in high gear... testing the traction differences between locked and unlocked. I had dug myself a pair of deep ruts and was rocking the wheel side to side; locked in high and full throttle... must have caught something solid and she snapped.

    Joly:
    I have a SuperLINK radio... a heavily modified LINK system with 8 channels. I like my system as it gives me full control over the options that the Summit offers.

    ksb:
    Thanks for the confirmation. I guess I will remove that from my order. lol
    Whatever it is I just said... I could be wrong.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •