RC Competitor

New to the mini summit family, suggestions for upgrade.

Im new to the 1/16 summit vxl family and would like suggestions on upgrades and would like to know what parts everyone is using. I want to build it to bash hard and be able to walk away with no broken parts

RC Racer
    1/16 E-Revo A-Arm
    1/16 E-Revo axles
    Rustler VXL
    T-Maxx 3.3
    1/16 Summit VXL

RC Champion
    if you are gona be a hard basher. id buy alot of everything.

RC Turnbuckle Jr. pavmentsurfer's Avatar
    1/16 E-Revo rockers as well as all MERV RPM arms.

The summit is not designed for heavy bashing. Its got straight rate suspension. So it doesnt get harder the more you compress it. This means when you land a big jump it will easily bottom out hard. Its the rockers that effect this and a set of MERV rockers will give you a progressive rate (gets stiffer the father you compress it). So when you jump it resists bottoming.

Im not the least bit convinced the summit drive shafts are weaker than the MERV versions. I think the biggest issue is the extreme angles the summit suspension can articulate to. The more extreme the angle the more likely the CV joints are to fail. With a set of MERV rockers and the MERV rear arms that are not the longer wheel base versions the stock driveshafts should hold up fine.

I would put a heat sink or fan on the motor for sure. Id look into some bearings for the rockers and steering and id look into a better servo. ******* 390 or Hitec 5085mg are good choices.
    Pede, Summit,
    ERBE, Rally,
    Motley Crew, 1SQ

RC Competitor
    Thanks for the info. I do plan on getting the merv axles. I hear alot of good things about them in summits, plus if u do break a merv shaft its cheap to repair. I already have bearings for the steering on the way. With the steering i plan on using dual stock servos.

RC Competitor