Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    479

    Tekin RX8 w/Airtronics MT-4 vs Stock XO-1 ESC and Radio

    Completely new to this RC stuff so take it easy on me. I have a brand new Tekin RX8 and I was wondering what the advantages/disadvantages are of replacing my stock ESC and also using an Airtronics MT-4 instead of the stock radio. I haven't used any of the stuff that came with my car so I figure I can sell it right now if these two replacements are going to make a significant difference now and later down the road.

  2. #2
    cool2win
    Guest
    I haven't ran my XO-1 yet due to snow. As soon as I can I will run it. I just ordered a new motor and esc. I want to try the new motor and esc. If its not faster I will just put the original motor and esc back in the XO-1. I just hope the new motor and esc works better. I paid $530 for the motor and $700 for the esc.

  3. #3
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Rc Room
    Posts
    1,484
    Well I doubt the RX8 can handle the same amount of power as the new Castle. (Gut feeling)

    RX8 is sensored and smoother because of it. Now try and find a four pole sensored motor big enough to replace the BIG BLOCK(1717).

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    719
    For the most part I would think it would be preference however be a little careful with temps on the RX8 motor depending on how you run...

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. pavmentsurfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    11,145
    Its pretty well accepted that the stock XO-1 system is capable of running full packs on 6S with no heat issues. Most feel the smaller 1/8 systems like the MMM and RX8 systems with their smaller motors will likely be capable of running full packs at 4S with no heat issues but will likely need cool down periods on 6S as the XO-1 is a large car. Of course, you could certainly gear it down and run 6S with no heat issues... but you won't be running 100mph with the smaller 1/8 systems without heat issues.
    Pede, Summit,
    ERBE, Rally,
    Motley Crew, 1SQ

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    479
    Well I sold the RX8 awhile ago, but I ordered my Airtronics MT-4 today. Is anyone else using one with their XO-1? If so, any advice for the setup?
    XO-1 #4...

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    479
    Half of my parts finally arrived:

    XO-1 #4...

  8. #8
    Marshal Dadx2mj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    21,255
    You will need to use Castle Link and turn off the "Castle Link Live" setting to make the radio work with the stock power system.
    BlindMan Racing
    Rusty - MERV - Pede 4x4-Alias
    SPC Lipo Power

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    479
    Thanks for the info, but I won't be using the stock system anymore.
    XO-1 #4...

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mile 300 Alaska Highway, B.C Canada
    Posts
    535
    This is a few miles away from my house! Thought you'd get a kick out of it.
    [IMG][/IMG]
    XO-1, Roadrunner Slash

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    479
    That is awesome! Now I just need to photoshop my car into the picture.
    XO-1 #4...

  12. #12
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    479
    Any recommendations for mounting a receiver in the XO-1 and keeping the dust and dirt out of it? Has anyone made any custom receiver housings or covers?
    XO-1 #4...

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    479
    Quote Originally Posted by Dadx2mj View Post
    You will need to use Castle Link and turn off the "Castle Link Live" setting to make the radio work with the stock power system.
    You make an interesting point now that I think of it. How do I unlock the stock XO-1 ESC without the stock radio? I must have missed that post somewhere.

    Nevermind, there is no way to get around it. Will have to use my stock radio.
    Last edited by bringit; 04-27-2012 at 02:42 AM.
    XO-1 #4...

  14. #14
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    239
    Originally Posted by Dadx2mj
    You will need to use Castle Link and turn off the "Castle Link Live" setting to make the radio work with the stock power system.

    Quote Originally Posted by bringit View Post
    You make an interesting point now that I think of it. How do I unlock the stock XO-1 ESC without the stock radio? I must have missed that post somewhere.

    Nevermind, there is no way to get around it. Will have to use my stock radio.

    reread it for a 3RD time

    USE your castle link to hook up to the ESC and DISABLE the Castle Link Live option so you can use the Airtronics radio

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •