Thread: Rear Grip?

Hybrid View

RC Enthusiast

Rear Grip?

Hi all. I'm new to 1/16, coming from a 1/10 Slash 4x4 project. I'm a flat-track dirt & gravel kind of guy and not really at home on asphalt, but I'm widening my horizons.

I just got a Boss 302 'cuz I love the 1/16 chassis ... it's a jewel! I'm using a single 3s and OEM gears. It's quick! However, since its a gym car, the little 'Stang is way too loose out of the box for my taste. I can run a figure-8 on smooth asphalt without spinning if I do it REAL slowly. Front grip seems to be fine; too much, even. Rear grip is almost non-existant, so the back whips all over the place like a good gym car should.

I changed to some stickier tires and that helped some, but it's still real hard to drive for this newbie. Until I learn how to drive it properly, can anyone suggest ways to improve rear grip on the 1/16 chassis?

Thanks!

RC Qualifier
    I dont run lipo but i think maybe a 3s is a bit to much, maybe go to a 2s? I would say play with you suspension tuning. I know whith my stang if I stiffen both front and rear it stays put a little better on stock tires. i'm also runnong 80wt shock oil. You could also look into a gyro, it should keep you pointed strait
    STRC Slash 4x4
    Hobby Hut Raceway, Audubon Pa.

I'm still in process of looking for a grip tire that is not too sticky so that the car does not roll. The stock tires are pretty slick and the more they wear the more slick they seem to be. I've also got a set of grip tires but it takes a bit of finesse to drive them so it does not roll. I have seen others go with a 31mm rear tire and some with a 6mm offset. Suspension tuning does come into play too.
    The Super Derecho

RC poster
    I just tried my brand new center diff (stock 50k). A lot of improvement.
    I run foam tires (35 shore) from LRP VTEC. 26mm front and 30mm back. At stock setup a lot of rollover's, because they have intense grip.