RC Enthusiast

R/C Newcomer needs help!

So I've had my rustler vxl for about a week now and absolutely LOVE it! I've ran rc cars before and am currently starting a track in my backyard. I have everything prepared for having a fun time except for batteries!!! The batteries i have now last for 10 minutes top and im sure there are batteries out there that are better. I have had some LiPo experience and understand them enough to use them but i dont know what to get. I will need a charger and 2 lipo batteries. I've looked at some batteries and i just dont know which ones will work the best. All the wisdom and help is wanted and very excited to get into racing.
    Thanks, Dane

RC Competitor
    Well, it depends on what you're looking for. Longer run times? More speed? Most folks run LiPos, but I'm one of the minority who still runs NiMh batteries.

They're fast enough for me. My Rusty is a street racer only, -my thing is drifting, and looping around neighborhood streets.

You should be getting more than 10 minutes out of your stock NiMh, but that depends on your driving style. I typically get 15-20 minutes out of mine. I bought another NiMh just like the one that came with my Rusty, so for me, I get enough run time.

SPC Racing is my brand of choice for LiPo batteries. You will see a lot of high praise for this company.
    For a charger: definitely get one that is compatible with both NiMH and LiPo packs. I believe you get what you pay for, and I would recommend something capable of 100 Watts or greater.

LiPo-capable chargers (or charging systems) have 3 main components : charger, balancer, and power supply. You need to decide whether you want all 3 in one box, all separate components, or some combination of 2 of the 3 components, and also what your budget is.

Oh yeah : Welcome!
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

RC Enthusiast