RC poster

What am I going to need out of the box?

I'm heading to my local hobby shop today to pick up the Stampede 4x4 vxl. I'm new to rc and need suggestions as to what i should get as far as upgrade parts for the truck right out of the box that will make the experience better for my dad and I. Any suggestions?

RC Racer
    Get replacement RPM A-Arms. Get them in the front at least. Otherwise you're going to snap a stock A-Arm the first time you run into anything half hard.

Other than that I would look into replacement of the stock stub axle/half shaft assemblies.

You can see how those holes were becoming ovals, and wouldn't have lasted much longer before snapping completely.

This is a much bigger deal if you tighten your slipper clutch, but tightening your slipper is something you will likely have to do if you want to do wheelies, etc.

Other parts you might look into are RPM shock towers (though the stock towers are pretty good), RPM rear bearing carriers, aluminum front C-Hubs and Bearing carriers.

Another thing you should look at is a heatsink for the motor. The motor is stressed pretty much to it's limit in a 4x4 truck like the Stampede. It's going to run HOT even with stock gearing, and you should be sure to take a break when that happens. Getting a heatsink for the motor will maybe give you a few more minutes between breaks, but the ultimate solution to stop it from overheating is to get a new motor. The stock motor just isn't that great for this truck.

RC Champion
    Another good upgrade is the King Headz motor mount with the traxxas aluminum bearing adapter ( replaces the plastic part on the slipper clutch ). As for the motor upgrade about the best upgrade for this truck and pretty fairly priced is the SCT 3800 by Castle Creations.