RC poster

New to RC - Need help deciding

Hey guys, I'm new to the site here. Looks like a great resource for info. I'm new to the RC world. I've always wanted to get into it, and I guess now is the time. I've been doing some research and at first, I was looking at going nitro, but it seems electric may be the way to go for me considering the less maintenance. I'm trying to decide between the Stampede 4x4 VXL and the E-MAXX Brushless. What exactly is the difference? I don't plan on doing any racing. Just running around my yard. Mostly on grassy hills, with occasional asphalt. I see the E-maxx comes with 2 batteries. Does that mean it's faster out of the box and will last longer on runs? I want something durable. Any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

RC Enthusiast
    Size is one major difference. Not my rigs but just something to help you get the idea. The Stampede is in the middle.

RC poster
    Thanks man. That does help as I was trying to find the size difference. The bigger E-Maxx would be cool, but I'm just trying to figure out which one would be best for me. Bigger I assume would mean being able to handle more obstacles. I do want something thats easy to get started with, but that also has options to upgrade if I really get into it. The E-Maxx was rated level 2, and the pede was rated 1 on Traaxas site. So does the E take more maintenance or is it just more upgradeable? Thanks.

RC Turnbuckle Jr. pavmentsurfer's Avatar
    They are both equally as upgradeable. You can pretty much build complete trucks with aftermarket parts. Heres a few things to consider:
    The Emaxx is more expensive to buy (by about $250), requires 2 batteries and is more expensive to fix. While it IS more capable due to its size, for where you described you run... the pede would work just fine.