Hybrid View

RC poster

Post Protecting the Servo and aftermarket servos

Hello guys, new member here. Im new in this rc business

What I would like to know, from the more experienced members, is what we can do to protect the servo from frying. I have a rally vxl (ken block edition) for 2 weeks now and I already burned one servo.

I have searched in this forum + the internet but I couldn’t find a complete guide for this

So far what I have gathered is

1) Keep the steering expo to around 50%
    2) Do not over tighten the Pivot balls to make sure there is no binding with the knuckles, while turning the wheels
    3) You can also achieve the above with reprogramming the steering end points
    4) Do not over tighten the screw on the horn
    5) Avoid big jumps and before it lands turn the wheels or press full throttle

Do you have any more suggestions? You can also provide some photos
    Also any good aftermarket servos?
    Did you need to modify sth and what?

Thanks in advance for your responses

RC Qualifier
    Just a point of clarification for you or anyone else reading this. When you say over tightening the pivot balls in my experience that is usually referring to aftermarket knuckles like rpm or HR and tightening the adjustment that holds the pivot ball itself and not screwing the pivot balls into the a arms.

I say this because HR knuckles fried my servo. The only other thing I can add is if your wheels stop turning don't crank the steering wheel to the other side so your servo is fighting it. Just turn it off and figure out what the problem is hopefully before you lost the servo.
    Rally SV2/4600 and fully loaded

RC Turnbuckle Jr. pavmentsurfer's Avatar