RC Competitor

changing pinion gear

Hey guys, I just got my stampede a couple days ago. It is my first hobby grade rc car. I was doing some research trying to figure out how to replace the stock pinion gear with the high speed one. I can't seem to find any information on how to do it. Do i just remove the gear cover and change it like that or do I need to take the entire motor out? Also will I be able to do this with just the tools that came with my truck because I read somewhere that I need a gear puller or I will damage my engine. Please help a noob out! Thanks guys.

RC Champion
    I was in the same boat you were not to long ago and I am still a noob but learning everyday. You have to take the gear cover off, loosen the engine screw or else you wont be able to pull the pinion out ( the chassis gets in the way ). Once that's done put in the optional 17t pinion and set your gear mesh. If you need help adjusting gear mesh that's in your manual. Good Luck and have fun with your new pede it's a awesome truck. And yes you can do this with the tools provided.
    R4lly GT8 | Backsl4sh | Sl4sh MT | Sl4sh | P4de

RC Champion
    Remember not to let the truck get to hot with the 17t pinion or you will be in for some unexpected problems due to overheating. Have fun and try not to smash it up!
    So I taped my hamster to the Pede..

RC Competitor
    thanks so much guys! i tried taking the gear cover off but there only appears to be one screw and the gear cover wont budge. do i need to loosen the engine to take the gear cover off?

RC Competitor
    also will i have problems with overheating if i have both a motor heatsink and an esc fan?