RC Racer

Batteries for max runtime

I love my new Summit, but I'm looking to get much more runtime out of it than stock batteries. (And a little more speed wouldn't be a bad side effect )

What should I go with? I'd love to go LiPo, but price is an issue. I'm thinking for now, I'll go with high capacity NiMh, unless LiPo is not that much more expensive, but it's that much better.

I also need a new dual charger, because charging two batteries one after another is already getting old!

I'm pretty new to battery operated trucks, so I'm just collecting as much information as possible.

Thanks!

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Good lipos tend to be cheaper than top end nimhs, and potentially have the same or more capacity ( nimhs are limited to about 5000mah, you can squeeze 6000-8000mah 2s lipos in the summit trays though ).

Have a read of the tutorials pages regards lipos & charging:

TUTORIALS

( worth noting the erevo & summit have the same electrical layout regards esc & battery size limits etc, so what applies to one applies to both really, even baring in mind 550 titans v 775 titan ).

The lipo charger & charging section will cover all your dual charger options pretty well, along with the technique for charging lipos.
    The LVC section will cover how to run lipos safely ( lvc warns you when the lipos are running down, need to stop running when they hit 3.2-2.4v per cell ) & where to get an LVC/ how to wire it etc.

Summit FAQ is a worth while read:

http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...Summit-F.-A.-Q.

And to see what size lipos you can fit:

http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n...atterysize.jpg
    Keeping the Mods busy is my specialty...

RC Racer
    Thanks for the links!

RC Racer
    Ok, more n00b questions.

Is a 2s and a 3s really that much better than 2x2s? Is it worth the extra risk?

Should the lipos be run as the ESC is wired, or run in series for longer run times?