RC Racer

Titan 12T 550 Break in/replacement motors

I know this topic has been discussed many times and is very opinionated but I'm fairly new to the hobby and have questions. After a ton of web browsing on the Titan 550's it seems they just do not last very long for some people,I've read alot about different break in techniques ,water methods,Coca Cola methods,removing the pinion,bench methods ect........I'm sure there are several hundred different ways to do it,which is the best I have no idea.Some have had good luck bashing straight out the box with no maint or a care in the world and have had good luck with motor life while others have used the factory break in method, cleaned the motor and oiled the bushings only to see them fail on only a few packs or live a long happy life,so I'd assume part is driving habits,terrain,gearing and heat?? Spoke with Traxxas Tech dept today on their opinion on break in and the guy stated to run the Stampede in a circle on a smooth large paved surface using 3/4 to full throttle "not in training mode" with no full throttle starts ect.. until the battery pack dies and that's it.I asked about bench break in method "which I like" and the tech guy stated the motor needed some load for proper break it in,I'd think thes less the load the better "less heat".He did comment the motors are only 25 bucks if it burns up,that comment kinda gave me the scoop.I'm sure they are very much informed about the Titan issues and yes $25 is pretty cheap but after buying several that adds up.I could not afford to go brushless considering I bought two new Stampedes and one Bandit for X-mas this year for some family fun and due to the weather all are still in the boxes.So if the Titans go out which they eventually will are there any brushed motors on the market I can buy to to replace the Titan without grinding and modifying that are a bit more dependable and will work with the stock electronics? I think I will use the bench method recommended in another t