RC poster

Low-Voltage cutoff for LiPo

I have a Rustler VXL that I purchased new a couple weeks ago. I was offered a good deal on LiPo batteries and a charger so I upgraded. Using the low voltage detection on the VXL-3 ESC the power is cut completely at 3.86V on my 3S. I am relatively new to the RC world but I find this somewhat impracticable. The battery has a suggested minimum discharge of 3.0V and a max of 4.2V, if the cutoff is at 3.86V then only 28% of the battery's potential is being used. Is there some way to lower the cutoff to say 3.24 or 80% of the potential? Is the stock VXL-3 programmable in such a way to lower these settings? The Battery itself is healthy according to my charger...

Any other suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thank You

EDIT: In case its important: the battery is a HYPERION 3S/11.1V/25C/4000mAh

RC Champion
    the vxl-3s esc is known for an early LVC problem. If that is the case, buy a LVC off tower or hobby city.

one thing to think about is that the LVC is for 3.0V under load when you let it sit for a minute the voltage should rise to somewhere around mid 3.6's

How much mah does your pack take? Keep in mind the pack takes a few runs to "break in"

Also, if it is under a month old, traxxas will give you a new ESC under warranty if you send it in

RC poster
    4000mAh,

so it's a problem with my ESC? It isn't designed to cutoff at such high levels?

RC Racer
    I don't have a VXL-3. However, keep in mind that lipos go down in voltage differently than ni-mh. Lipos maintain their voltage until almost the very end, then suddenly go down fast. Once the lipo reaches the 3.86V it means even if you change it to 3.2 cutoff, it will not add much more running time.
    Last edited by DynoXG; 07-27-2010 at 04:07 PM.