RC Competitor

Is runtime the same with Brushless

If I go to brushless motor, what kind of runtime should I expect? Will it be the same as brushed motors and do you use same batteries as brushed or do you have to use lipo

RC Qualifier
    brushless motor's are a lot more efficient and you should see about double the run time .you need lipo if you want a high power brushless system like a MMM or tekin RX8 but a smaller brushless system like a Novak HV you could get away with nimh's
    Last edited by Notin_but_aRevo; 12-03-2009 at 09:47 PM.
    I know you wish you bought a tekin RX8

RC Competitor
    cool that helps a lot, are there any set ups that are waterproof. I really want to switch to lipo and brushless, just don't know what to get or where to even start...I'm a newbie what can I say but the summit has really started something.

RC Qualifier
    I'm not aware of any setups suitable for the Summit that are waterPROOF, but the Castle MMM/2200Kv is said to be water resistant (meaning you can splash through shallow puddles, play in the snow, etc., but you just can't submerge it).
    Not sure what the water resistance claims (if any) are on the Texin RX8.

Agreed, brushless with LiPo should give close to double the runtime as brushed on similar mAh NiMH batts.

RC Qualifier
    the tekin rx8 say's in the manual
    Do not operate speed control in or around water.
    so thats not water proof ..the only water proof system would be to do a dual traxxas Velineon setup..heres a thread with one installed in a e-revohttp://monster.traxxas.com/showthrea...=423998&page=3
    I know you wish you bought a tekin RX8

RC Racer
    Everything can be splash proofed!!!
    It all depends on how much work you are willing to put down.
    Run time is about the same or less because I'm using the power.....but it's twice the fun
    It's not meant for weak batteries IMO