Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

RC Qualifier

Pictures of how to shim a diff.

This is a brief description of how to shim your diffs. I'll do my best to give you a step by step description of each picture.

Here is a picture of the diff. and the shims I use.

Remove the 4 screws shown in this picture

Separate the cases

Remove this gear

Place shims on the shaft as shown. I usually start with 1 or 2 shims.

Slide the shims all the way down until they are against the gear.

Insert the gear back into the housing

Put the cases back together and insert the 4 screws

Check for slop by trying to move the shaft on the left in and out. If it feels snug, check for binding by rotating it. If it all feels good, your done. If it feels sloppy, add another shim. You want it to move as little as possible in and out, while still rotating freely.

Hopefull this post helps those of you with questions on how to shim the diff. I'm not a pro by any means, this is just the method I use.
    Last edited by ksb51rl; 03-27-2010 at 12:39 PM.

RC Champion
    great pics and explaining! ive never shimmed a diff, but is that the only place that needs shims? i thought i remember reading there was two places to shim.
    www.knoxxgear.com

RC Racer
    I noticed that when I fill my diffs with grease they seem a little tighter. Does anyone else fill theres with grease??
    Easy on the throttle, then punch it!

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    You also need to shim the diff side to side, not just pinion depth. Also, you should never shim a dirty diff...always thoroughly wash all grease off before shimming.

Grease (inside the diff cup) will make the diff seem tighter when you spin it by hand, but it is actually less vicious than diff oil, so it will not perform as well as diff oil.

Grease on the ring and pinion is fine, since metal gears need lube, but you only need a little, just enough to coat the gears.
    Project: BL Revo Race Quad & BL G-Maxx G3R CF Revo

RC Qualifier