Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    45

    my revo seems too sputter ?

    so i was out doing some speed runs yesterday and my e-revo seem to sputter or glitch under heavy throttle what could cause this ?
    lipo + brushless = nitro killer

    Edge

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    606
    Not enough power from the batts maybe? Or Radio glitching.

    What are you using for batts/plugs/radio and are your motor-to-esc wires twisted/braided?

  3. #3
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    45
    venom 3s 4000 or venom 2s 5000 (pairs of each of course) traxxas plugs
    spektrum 3.0 none of my wires are braided but i do have some excess wire neatly zip tied from the esc to the reciever
    motor wires are fine
    lipo + brushless = nitro killer

    Edge

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. asheck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    7,361
    IMO it's probably batteries. With the Spektrum there should be no need to braid wires.
    _
    _
    _ 3 lines are all that's allowed in a sig.

  5. #5
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,749
    Well he's tried two sets of batteries, lipo's at that, so I doubt it's the batteries.

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    606
    Thats what I was thinking. The LiPos should put out the power needed, regaurdless of the name on them. EVX2/Titans?

  7. #7
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Belgium (Europe)
    Posts
    131
    It's probably the EMI sent out by your motor under high currents that is affecting your receiver.

    Do you have the three capacitors on your motor? Are they still intact?
    Try to shield the antenna wire a bit (with a metal tube or aluminum foil) where it exits the antenna tube on the bottom.

  8. #8
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. asheck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    7,361
    I kinda assumed brushless with his sig. A Spektrum should not be getting interference with anything. So I would be looking connectors, solder joints ,ect.
    _
    _
    _ 3 lines are all that's allowed in a sig.

  9. #9
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    45
    sorry about that i really didn't list my setup did i
    i've got the mmm with the 2200 neu/castle motor
    spektrum dx3.0 with the sr3000 rec
    currently running venom 2s 5000 20c with 30c burst
    i don't know how much the gearing would play a part in the current draw but its only 18/62 the antenna running from the box to the post (a little over an inch) is not shielded at all and right next to the motor would the novak glich buster help this if its a interference issue
    Last edited by edge0877; 05-02-2009 at 10:01 AM.
    lipo + brushless = nitro killer

    Edge

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    718
    sounds like a bad solder joint somewhere and if the servos dont exibit this then it is on the motor side not the power side
    If it didn't break you can do it again.

  11. #11
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    45
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AdvpQ-FT_Ps

    this is what it does not all the time just some times and i'm starting to think its the reciever because it cut out on me completely today between 75 and 100 yards away
    lipo + brushless = nitro killer

    Edge

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •