RC Enthusiast

repeated transmission servo failures

I've had my Summit since mid February. The original transmission servo didn't last through one battery. I picked up a second and it lasted about 6 trips out bashing...I recently converted my Summit to Brushless with the Castle MMM system and I reset ALL the endpoints on all the servos when I installed a Futaba 4PK radio system. The tranny servo again failed before the LVC kicked in on the first run. I put another one in and It died during its first run too. So, I lost the stock and two that I paid for. I finally called Traxxas and they suggested it was feedback from out of sync steering servos. I do have the Steering servos on a Y connector but centering and end-pointing them seemed to be breeze...I can't seem to figure this out. I have been doing RC for 15 years and I believe I know how to set endpoints. Anyone have any suggestions?

RC Racer
    Mine have been doing the exact same thing, i have the same setup to, mmm monster 2200kv and 4pk. I bought some futaba digital servo's that are the exact same fit, but the darn servo splines are smaller than the traxxas mini servo's which have a regular size servo spline. I had to send em back. This is a real problem for me to. I put one hitec 5955 titanium servo instead of running two traxxas servo's. No y harness needed anymore. Still having the servo issue's to thou. I am running the maxamp's 8000 lipo's and 18 tooth pinion that my mmm came with, so go so far, put quite a few packs throu it so far, **** it is nut's with this combo. I love it. Holding up great so far, what pinion are you running.

RC Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by hal001
    <snip>still having the servo issue's to thou. I am running the maxamp's 8000 lipo's and 18 tooth pinion that my mmm came with, so go so far, put quite a few packs throu it so far, **** it is nut's with this combo. I love it. Holding up great so far, what pinion are you running.