RC Enthusiast

Slash is running slow

I have a Slash that my son and I have run for a few weeks. Its always run strong until yesterday. It has been run pretty hard. It has slowed down alot and then the motor died. I bought another stock motor today and it is still running slow. I've adjusted the ESC several times and I'm pretty sure its right. Changed the batteries back and fourth.

I have noticed that the transmission seems to make a whinning noise. I adjusted the clutch loose and tight and it makes the same noise. It does not seem to be slipping and everything spins good.

My set up is all stock with 3300 nimh Venom batteries with an Onyx 210 charger.

What could be the problem. Trans?

Thanks, Jesse

RC Competitor
    Well Im no expert on the Slash but I do recall reading in the instruction manual about a Training mode that restricts the power output for beginners. Check that. I know I know, check it again.

Assuming the connectors for the new motor did not come pre-installed, are you sure those connections are good, solid connections? I have read where folks are converting those motor - ESC connectors to Deans or TRX.

Stranger things have happened than to have a battery die out prematurely too. That is relevant to how far you run it down and recharge it etc. Hopefully you have another rig to install the battery in to see if it works good in another vehicle. If so, I would suggest looking at the ESC as being the culprit.
    And, honestly, after installing a brushless system in one of my Slashes I wouldn't even bother with a stock setup. Period. Waste of money IMHUO when you cna get so much more in performance for about the same money as retail on the stock setup.
    Hope this helps.

RC Enthusiast
    I did check the training mode thing. No, thats not it. In training mode the thing is really slow. I also adjusted the throttle position and still the same.