RC poster

How long should the motor last?

This has probably been covered before, and I tried to search for it.

I should be picking up the Slash tomorrow after work. I have only run nitro engines and I can usualy get about 5 to 8 gallons from a motor. I am a complete electric noob , how long do these motors last? How can you tell it is time to get a new one? I've seen some guys with some kind of lathe thing at the track spinning the motor to shave it. It seems like black magic to me.

RC Qualifier
    The lathe will only help with a rebuildable motor.. The titan motor is a closed end motor and the brushes are not replaceable. Although, it will last a few months if you take it easy. If you are driving in water and never clean it out, it will last significantly shorter. If you buy a rebuildable brushed motor and a lathe, it can last for years.

Also, running more volts will shorten the life of the motor. A 6 cell will last the longest, but running 8 cells will make it run hotter and shorten its life.
    www.SoCal-RC.com

yea Frank is right. The motor on a 6-cell over even a 2s lipo could easily last a year if it's maintain correctly.
    Simply the best. The beautiful Traxxas SRT and TCP

RC Champion
    I run mine in a very sandy environment. While I do maintain the motors as best I can, they simply don't last all that long for me. I still only run 6 cell although I am soon upgrading to 2s lipo. That as much as anything is the appeal of brushless. They simply kill a brushed motor as far as maintenance is concerned. I still keep one Slash brushed in hopes of a spec class but everything else is brushless.
    All that said, like mentioned above, where you run your truck and how meticulous you are with up-keep will dictate how long a Titan or any other motor will last.

TR17
    To err is human, to arr is pirate!

RC Turnbuckle Jr. NStampede Freak's Avatar
    My titan so far has lasted a good 50+ runs. I have lost count already.