RC Racer

Upgrading Old Rustler 3706 to Brushless

I am relatively new in the R/C scene. I have a completely stock, original Traxxas Rustler Model 3706 with the stinger 20-turn motor. I am looking for much more performance. What is the best and cheapest way to upgrade? If I bought the Velineon system would it shred the components of the car? Would it be easily installable? What would I need to upgrade in order to install a brushless system or even a better motor with lower turns? Or should I simply buy a new car altogether? Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by bigalxc08; 02-16-2009 at 09:50 PM.

RC Champion
    It is pretty easy to upgrade from a 3706 to brushless. I have done it from a 3710 which is the same thing. Since you have a 3706 and not a 3710 you have a xl-1 which also means that the transmission has bearings in it. You will need to upgrade to an all metal transmission. You will need to get a Steel idler and a metal ring differential. You will also need RPM 5x11 bearing carriers. Rear and Front. With those you will need 5x11 bearings. Team Blue Star, Avid R/C, and Traxxas all make great bearings that will fit. Just make sure to buy 8, 5x11x4 bearings. You will also need a good 6 cell or lipo battery. SPC makes awesome batteries. With those some decent connectors will also be needed. If you are looking at the VXL then some Traxxas connectors will be good.
    -CB
    If you can't convince them confuse them

RC Racer
    Alright thanks for the input, any idea how much the total would cost? I would probably need to new remote control as well? If I'm looking for 40-50mph should i do LiPo or NiMH, right now i cant afford 11.1V. And all i need is to by a system which includes motor and speed control?

RC Champion