RC Racer

Charging LiPos at 1C...necessary?

Hello everyone!

I'm quite new to the world of LiPo batteries, and was wondering if it is *mandatory* to charge Lipos at 1C (at most), as opposed to 1/2C? 1/10C?

What I mean to say is, can I charge my Lipos *slower* than 1C, with no consequences?

Can I set my GT Power A6-10 charger to charge my ***** 3s 20-30 5000mah Lipos to only 1amp, instead of 5a? Will it just take longer, but will cause no problem?

Is there any advantage (other then shorter charge time, obviously) in charging at 1C instead of less?

I'm very concerned about safety (not overheating batteries, fires, etc.), and I'm never in a rush to charge.

Thanks!

PS: I'm a new E-Revo owner, as of last week
    Last edited by stripe; 01-08-2009 at 12:36 PM.

RC Competitor
    You can safely charge at a lower rate , it just takes longer .
    I do quite often , if no rush .

RC Qualifier
    ^
    Same here. If I'm in no rush, I charge at half C.

RC Racer
    Thanks guys! So a battery charged at 1C wont perform any better then one charged at, say, 1/2 C? Therefore, if I'm in no rush, I think I'll charge all my Lipos at 1/2 C or less. If nothing else, I'll sleep better at night.
    Last edited by stripe; 01-08-2009 at 02:19 PM.

RC Qualifier
    Quote Originally Posted by stripe
    Thanks guys! So a battery charged at 1C wont perform any better then one charged at, say, 1/2 C? Therefore, if I'm in no rush, I think I'll charge all my Lipos at 1/2 C or less. If nothing else, I'll sleep better at night.
    Correct. The cells just have to reach a certain voltage (4.2 volts/cell) and as soon as the charging current drops to about 1/10th C, charging stops. But just the same, don't charge the battery unattended.

RC Racer
    take it this way charging a lipo and a lower amp can never hurt saftey and performance wise
    lifes tough, get a helmet

RC Champion