Thread: LIPO guide

RC poster

Question LIPO guide

Is there a LIPO guide on this forum or another forum... I did a search here to find out more info about LIPO batteries but nothing really came up in the results that I found answered my questions.

What are the differences in LIPOS?

What is a 2c, 3c, 4c LIPO?

What is 4 cell, 6 cell, 7 cell?

What is 2s, 3s, ... 6s?

What is the difference from a 5000mah to an 8000mah?

What are the performance differences between different types of LIPO batteries?

Thanks

RC Champion
    This one is pretty good. Someone sent this to me and I have read it several times....

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209187

RC poster
    I'm still a newbie, but I've been researching this myself lately...

Quote Originally Posted by FST RACER
    What is 4 cell, 6 cell, 7 cell?
    One lipo cell has a fairly standard voltage, wired in serial (positive to negative) the voltages add up. Wired in paralell (positive to positive) the current adds up. You don't need to care how many cells are in the battery if you have the right voltage and the battery fits in the compartment.

What is 2s, 3s, ... 6s?
    s is the number of cells in serial. p is the number in paralell. So 2s 3p would have six cells with twice the voltage and three times the current capacity of a single cell.
    What is the difference from a 5000mah to an 8000mah?
    Milliamp Hours. This is a measure of how much power the battery has when it's fresh, and now long it will last. Any kind of battery you buy has this rating on it, although the numbers are lower with other types.
    What are the performance differences between different types of LIPO batteries?
    More voltage = higher top speed, more current = more torque and longer runtimes. Too much of either can result in more heat and fried components, check your esc specs for maximums.
    Last edited by dskidmore; 10-17-2008 at 02:43 PM.

RC poster
    Quote Originally Posted by nitrolijah72