+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    839

    Quick Tech Hobby Is A Scam!!!!!!!

    I'd like to tell everyone that I"m pretty sure www.quicktechhobby.com is a scam. I placed an order on March 31. I sent an email a week ago asking about the status of the order. No response. I sent another email yesterday and so far I get nothing. Called 3 times and there was no respnse. I actually had to look up the phone number on another site as they don't even list it on their website. According to an RC Univere forum rating by the members of that site, it was rated a 3/10. I notice people said there was a loss of communication.

    Someone sent me a link to this forum. It shows someone else got ripped off http://www.sixtharmygroup.com/portal...pic.php?t=1680

    My dad left a message just now saying that if he doesn't get a response via phone or email, we are calling the credit card company.

    I'm really mad about this.

    - Tom

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    623
    wow, that sucks. Hope you get a refund.
    Sig edited as a one time courtesy.
    NC

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    839
    Yeah It''s fake. I''m mad. Look at this. I''d say it''s proof. Here is the so called location http://www.rcuniverse.com/dealers/de...artner_id=1396 they claim to sell traxxas. I went to traxxas'' website to the dealer located and typed in their zip code. It doesn''t list quick tech hobby http://www.buytraxxas.com/locator/custlocator.php as a dealer!!!

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    839
    http://www.rcuniverse.com/dealers/de...artner_id=1396 look at the ratings. Just one good rating and it has NO comments

  5. #5
    Marshal BobR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Asheville, NC
    Posts
    5,087
    Wow, it's like someone threw up HTML all over that page.
    Six in a row makes it go.

  6. #6
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,145
    Quote Originally Posted by BobR
    Wow, it's like someone threw up HTML all over that page.

    No joke, looks like more like the coder just took laxatives . PA, did you pay with paypal?
    No rusty & no maxx

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. 31794ty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Marietta, Georgia
    Posts
    3,822
    +1 on that. If you used paypal you should be able to get your money back.
    Stampede VXL Mini-T Nitro Stampede RC10T RC10B4 FT

  8. #8
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    839
    my dad is calling the credit card company

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    623
    so according to that site, it has been running for 41 years and has never been reported?

    Ps, the internet hasent even been around that long.
    Sig edited as a one time courtesy.
    NC

  10. #10
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Boosbeck, England
    Posts
    185
    From the look of that site i definitely wouldn't of bought from there. I really hope it all gets sorted for you and you can get your money back. People like that make me sick, what goes around comes around though.
    Even a broken clock is right twice a day.

  11. #11
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. harry697's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    7,799
    Is that the place that claimed they have 20 SRT's NIB?

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    3,299
    ouch that stinks they should definitly be punished
    65mph n rusty 13 more mph to go :)

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    251
    Epic Fail... that site even looks like a scam..lol
    foxed.01.googlepages.com

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Frog season opens at sunset June 30th and closes October 31 every year.
    Posts
    864
    Looks like it designed by kids, for kids.
    Get your vote on.

  15. #15
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9
    lol, they have RTR Maxx's with radios and RTR Maxx's without radios for different prices

  16. #16
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    839
    Why isn't a phone number listed on the website? At one time QTH had an 800 number for customers to call. After a couple of years our accounting department determined that it was not cost effective. One of the major problems faced in the RC industry is low markups. In order to survive a company must keep its overhead down. We used highly secured "canned" software for processing orders, credit cards and all e-mails are funneled thru one e-mail account and forwarded on to the various departments for processing. A history of of all e-mails (excluding spam) are retained and reviewed for proper customer support. We admit that sometimes it takes longer than we would like to response to all the e-mails we get, but each one is important. One of our phone numbers is listed on your credit card statement, in case there is a problem.
    yeah like that's the reason

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    rochester ny
    Posts
    369
    that site doesnt even look professional at all! i wouldnt have even tried to order from there

  18. #18
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Longmont, Co
    Posts
    3,035
    I like all of the discontinued stuff that they have
    My sig is way extra more better than yours!

  19. #19
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    new iberia,lousiana,deep south
    Posts
    301
    i still never got any of my parts i paid 298.oo for from 2coolrc its been 4 weeks and no replys are anything.

  20. #20
    Marshal Nitronaught's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    18,031
    Just did a domain lookup on that site for you. Don't know if this can help but anyways.

    Darrah, Laura
    215 S. Ohio
    Sedalia, MO 65301
    US
    660-829-4638 x 118 Fax: 660-826-6290

    BobR, that site is a Miva Merchant site. The HTML is generated through a series of databases. It's obvious to me they bought the software out of the box and did little to it to make it look decent. And yeah it looks awefull....
    Founder of H.U.A.
    Hop Ups Anonymous

  21. #21
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Adirondacks, NY
    Posts
    420
    ROtfl. What is up with all of the dragons!!!!lol. Must be a Chinese company or something, reminds me of the artwork on a box of firecrackers!

  22. #22
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. harry697's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    7,799
    Am I missing something? Not trying to be ignorant,but why would you order from this place? As if the whole website isn't shady enough,I just read the ratings posted on their own website and almost every single comment said it was a scam and they didn' reeive the products.You have to check this kinda stuff first.I always check feedback on ebay and other sites before doing business.Good luck getting your money back,and consider it a lesson.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts